Goodbye, Martha!- Coconut Biscuits!- 292 eggs, 215 1/2 cups of sugar, 218 1/4 sticks of Butter, and 276 cups of flour used!

October 12, 2015


Martha's Coconut Biscuits

Martha’s Coconut Biscuits

IMG_3006

André’s Coconut Biscuits

Poker chips. That’s how I could describe the texture of this enigma of a cookie… Poker Chips!  No butter or eggs are implemented in the creation of these resin-like cookies which consist solely of coconut, flour, seasonings, and water. The batter resembles that of a thick paste which is then refrigerated to harden before being cut into rounds and baked. They are tough little cookies but have a not-all-too-unpleasant flavor. Friends who braved a sample said they wouldn’t be bad with coffee. I took that response to be a nice way of saying that on their own, they’re pretty damned awful. When transporting them to share with friends they rattled about in their container. The sound  from the backseat gave the effect  I was chauffeuring a nervous gambler fiddling with his stack of chips. Presenting them on the serving tray, I decided I should offer warning to any who might partake. The handwritten sign simply read “I hope your teeth are strong.”

I’ve written enough– well over a quarter-of-a-million words on this blog.

Today, I packed up my desk– ten years of work as a greeting card writer, edited down to a single cardboard box.

This week I say goodbye to a number of people whom I’ve had the privilege to know and work alongside.

It’s time to say goodbye to this blog, too.

I leave on Friday to join my husband in Minnesota.

Yes, I expect to freeze there.

I am grateful to all of you who took time to read my posts and hope you found some laughs, a few tears, and questionable punctuation;.?’

I am even more grateful to those of you who donated to AIDS Walk Kansas City– that was the purpose of starting this blog. Your donations over the years amounted to over $30,000 raised.

Thank you to Martha Stewart and Omnimedia for not giving two shits about this blog. (Your cooking times are inaccurate and your yields are off.)

 

Thus ends this chapter.

Time to turn the page.

Oh, look–

It’s blank.

This is good.

Anything’s possible.

 

With Love,

andré du broc

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Goodbye, Martha!- Coconut Biscuits!- 292 eggs, 215 1/2 cups of sugar, 218 1/4 sticks of Butter, and 276 cups of flour used!”

  1. Don Adams Says:

    Bon voyage, Andre — and thanks again for taking us on this long, fascinating trip You carried us all so far beyond cookies and how they crumble. All blessings to you and Dan in your new home. And here’s to many happy chapters to come.

  2. Patricia Arnold Says:

    I will b=miss the blogs and do have a wonderful life in Minnesota!

    Pabby Date: Mon, 12 Oct 2015 19:35:15 +0000 To: pabarnold@hotmail.com

  3. Nat Gaynor Says:

    This definitely falls in the tears category for me! All the wondrous good of the north be on you! xoxo

  4. Sharon Davis Says:

    Good Bye my Friend and best of luck to you and your husband.
    I’ll miss you

    [Description: signature_with_text]


Leave a comment