Martha Roasting On An Open Fire!- Butter Cookie Sandwiches With Chestnut Cream! -261 eggs, 197 cups of sugar, 200 1/4 sticks of Butter, and 246 1/2 cups of flour used so far- 20 recipes to go!

December 4, 2011


Martha's Butter Cookie Sandwiches with Chestnut Cream

André's Butter Cookie Sandwiches with Chestnut Cream

So, sticking to Martha’s rules, I had to go on another scavenger hunt to procure an ingredient not commonly found in the Midwest- Chestnut Cream (AKA Crema di Marroni).

I started at one Italian specialty store where the owner, a full-blooded, first generation Sicilian looked surprised when I asked him, “Crema di Marroni?”. He immediately began to rattle off in Italian while I nodded politely inserting a gentle, “Scusi mi, Signior.” I explained that, “Crema di marroni” and “Scusi mi, Signior” were the extent of my Italian. He responded, “Non! No crema di marroni! You try Dean & Delucca!”  Why is it that when I hear Italian or German I feel like I’m being yelled at?

The gentleman was right. Dean & Delucca did have chestnut cream at eight dollars a can. Why is everything at least eight dollars at Dean & Delucca?

I brought it home and began baking. The cookie part of this recipe is a simple sugar cookie cut-out requiring multiple chillings of the dough. The filling was a combination of chestnut cream, butter and confectioner’s sugar. Not only that, it only called for a few tablespoons of that eight-dollars-a-can chestnut cream. (I saved the rest to make    macaron fillings with.) I hate you for this, Martha.

The cookies were baked, filled and then dipped in melted chocolate.

How were they?

Well, I like to think I have a discerning palate, but chestnut is an a very subtle flavor- sweet and slightly nutty. It is, by itself, just a syrupy, goopy, jam without much else to offer. The result was a buttery filled cookie with an unremarkable filling. The chocolate coating, at least, was a treat.

I baked these for a fiery, red-headed, former boss and shoe-diva who retired months ago. I’d promised her cookies and needed to make good on my promise. I dropped by her home unannounced to leave them for her. She had just gotten back from church and was wrapped up in a warm robe. It was the first time I’d seen her wearing flats. I always had a suspicion she owned a pair or two.

I felt bad that I hadn’t called first but she still seemed happy to see me… I think.

I was, however, disappointed she wasn’t wearing a turban. If anyone could bring turbans back into fashion, and I wish someone would,  it’d be her.

By the time I got home she’d sent me an email.

It read:

“I ate the first cookie before you left the driveway. Yum! Thanks for being so thoughtful and a good cook!”

So, there you have it- Butter Cookie Sandwiches with Chestnut Cream. Not the shortest title for a cookie, that’s for sure. And not really worth traveling across town in search of Martha’s mystery ingredient. Still, it’s a good cookie and best of all, it was appreciated.

Here is my next installment of bite-sized poetry based on childhood memories friends and family shared with me about the gift they wished Santa would bring them. If you’re just reading this for the first time then go back a few posts to see what this is all about.

I’ll probably have only one more installment in this series I call, Dear Santa… .

Also, check back soon. I have some big news to share. Nothing that’s going to change your life in any meaningful way, but it’ll change mine quite a bit… at least for a few months. But I ain’t telling. At least not just yet.

Happy Holidays, Folks!  Enjoy these seven “poetic” stocking stuffers.

Little Adriane wanted…

Star Wars Action Figures

A long, long time ago

in a theatre far away.

I went to see a film

on a boiling hot summer’s day.

With a sudden blast of brass

the screen filled up with stars.

Shakespeare set in space?

Lucas’ Celestial Wars.

Little Sarah, Little Maureen, and Little Renée wanted…

a Pony

I want a pony!

I want it now!

A knight on top, of course.

If it’s too much work,

forget the knight,

I’ll just take the horse.

Little Nicole wanted…

a Mork from Ork doll

Maybe I’m just crazy,

or a Prime Time TV dork,

Still, “Na Noo Na Noo” thrills me

from my plastic Mork from Ork.

Little Stephanie wanted…

a Toy Cement Mixer

Most girls like dolls but  a small percent

would rather mix and lay cement.

Another Little Stephanie wanted…

one of Santa's Reindeer

Dear

Santa Claus,

Just one of eight…

is that too much to ask for?

A bit of Christmas magic to call my own.

To feed, to care for and to ride into the night sky,

a part of those amazed smiles, a messenger of happiness,

of Peace,

of Love,

of Joy.

Little Morgan wanted…

a Go Go - My Walking Puppy

 I want a puppy that go-go-goes,

a fuzzy poodle or a pug.

I’ll give him baths and clean up when

he doodles batteries on the rug.

Little David wanted…

a Daisy BB Gun

Despite my dear parents’ warnings,

and their little white lies,

I  loved my Daisy BB Gun

and still have both my eyes.

3 Responses to “Martha Roasting On An Open Fire!- Butter Cookie Sandwiches With Chestnut Cream! -261 eggs, 197 cups of sugar, 200 1/4 sticks of Butter, and 246 1/2 cups of flour used so far- 20 recipes to go!”

  1. stephanie Says:

    Oh Andre!!! Love you friend and thank you! This was forever a treasured memory and you brought it back to me!!!! Thank you!!!

  2. project1979 Says:

    I LOVE your blog. Many smiles have been had just by reading a few posts.


    • Thanks so much for taking the time to let me know how much you enjoy my blog. I’m heading towards the end of this challenge and have hit a major snag. I’ll be posting more about that tomorrow. Meanwhile, keep reading and have the happiest of holidays.


Leave a Reply

