Martha Gave Me a Swirlie!- Coconut Swirl Brownies! -254 eggs, 191 cups of sugar, 195 1/4 sticks of Butter, and 241 1/2 cups of flour used so far- 24 recipes to go!

November 19, 2011


Martha's Coconut Swirl Brownies

André's Coconut Swirl Brownies

Brownies are always a fan favorite for those with a sweet tooth and a mild-to-outrageous chocolate addiction. Martha’s Coconut Swirl Brownies certainly don’t disappoint. The brownie mixture is typical of most, melted chocolate, vanilla extract, butter, flour, eggs, salt, baking powder and sugar come together in a thick chocolatey batter. In a separate bowl, shredded unsweetened coconut flakes, condensed milk, sugar and egg whites are combined to make the coconut swirl element. Once the brownie batter has filled an eight-inch square baking pan, lined with parchment paper with a few inches of the paper extended over two sides for easy removal of the brownies later, tablespoons of the coconut mixture are plopped on top and then swirled into the batter with a butter knife.

Once baked and allowed to cool, the brownies can be cut into squares and served.

How do they taste?

They have the flavor of an Almond Joy candy bar- very chocolatey and very coconutty- also very, very delicious. I know not everyone is a big fan of coconut. I, however, am. If you are looking for a recipe that puts a fun and delicious twist on the usual plain brownie, I suggest keeping this recipe in mind.

People have been asking me what I’m going to do with myself after this cookie blog is done, which will hopefully be early next year. Well, here’s what I’m thinking:

I’d like to have some sort of fundraiser for the last cookie. A gathering of friends sharing milk & cookies and perhaps a few readings from some of the past posts. This blog was born out of an idea to raise funds for local charity and it would be nice to put it to bed doing exactly that. As far as pursuing any sort of book deal or memoir, all I can say is maybe. It seems to me that the publishing market is currently drowning in memoirs. I will take some time to extract the cookie-stuff from the stories so Martha doesn’t sue me and rearrange them into some sort of narrative, try to find the story arc in these random posts.

That said, I have other writing endeavors I want to pursue in the next year. I have a fiction I’d like to begin writing based loosely on a gruesome murder in Baton Rouge when I was in my early twenties. I had briefly dated the prime suspect prior to the killing and therefore I was privy to details I wish I hadn’t known. The suspect I had been dating was released and never charged due to lack of evidence but part of me has always remained suspicious.  That’s as far as I’m willing to tip my hand on that project.

Beyond these two ambitious projects, I have a life and a career to focus on. I have a wedding in April to plan- I’m not very good at this whole wedding-planning thing.  I am also in the midst of a DIY remodel project to my upstairs in which I am planning on losing a finger-or-two to a power-tool accident. It’ll hard to type without all my fingers but I will surely prevail.  I also have a children’s theatre musical  about childhood obesity I’ve been commissioned to write with the first draft due at the end of the year and the final draft due in early February. (Going between the writing of a cookie blog and a play about childhood obesity is what is known as delicious irony.)

So, what am I going to be doing when I finish this blog? The same thing I’ve always done… overcommit myself to a bajillion things and then complain about them to anyone willing to listen.

I know this is a pretty short post but I plan on doing a fun one tomorrow.

You can help!

Use the comment box to tell me about the one holiday gift you remember wanting as a child. Did you receive it? If so, how long did you keep it? Still have it? Be as descriptive or as plain as you’d like. I am going to turn these into something tomorrow. What I turn them into remains to be seen but it’s just the thing I need to put me in the mood for the holidays.

 

 

2 Responses to “Martha Gave Me a Swirlie!- Coconut Swirl Brownies! -254 eggs, 191 cups of sugar, 195 1/4 sticks of Butter, and 241 1/2 cups of flour used so far- 24 recipes to go!”

  1. Katherine Stano Says:

    Hey Andre! I wanted a guitar! I got a toy version, but never even learned to play that
    😦
    Happy Holiday Writing!
    Kat

  2. Neal Collier Says:

    YOU are a very talented, insightful, and gifted writer! And because I want a Swirlie from Martha also, I am making this recipe on Saturday!

    Your Buddy in Bloomington,

    Neal


Leave a Reply

